Daily homily thoughts, 10/16

Today we celebrate St. Margaret Mary.  During a series of revelations, Christ informed her that she was His chosen instrument to spread devotion to His Sacred Heart.  The Lord instructed her in her visions about the devotion that was to become known as First Fridays.  Jesus also asked that the feast of the Sacred Heart be established.  It eventually did.

The First Friday of each month was designated by our Savior Himself as a day to be consecrated to honoring His Sacred Heart. First Fridays is comprised of:

  1. The Holy Sacrifice of the Mass
  2. Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament
  3. The Sacrament of Reconciliation
  4. Act of Consecration to the Sacred Heart of Jesus
  5. Act of Reparation
  6. The Litany of the Sacred Heart of Jesus

The Promises of the Sacred Heart of Jesus to St. Margaret Mary Alacoque:

  1. “I will give them all the graces necessary in their state of life.”
  2. “I will establish peace in their homes.”
  3. “I will comfort them in their afflictions.”
  4. “I will be their secure refuge during life, and above all in death.”
  5. “I will bestow a large blessing upon all their undertakings.”
  6. “Sinners shall find in My Heart the source and the infinite ocean of mercy.”
  7. “Tepid souls shall grow fervent.”
  8. “Fervent souls shall quickly mount to high perfection.”
  9. “I will bless every place where a picture of My Heart shall be set up and honored.”
  10. “I will give to priests the gift of touching the most hardened hearts.”
  11. “Those who shall promote this devotion shall have their names written in My Heart, never to be blotted out.”
  12. “I promise thee in the excessive mercy of My Heart that My all-powerful love will grant to all those who communicate on the First Friday in nine consecutive months, the grace of final penitence; they shall not die in My disgrace nor without receiving the Sacraments; My Divine heart shall be their safe refuge in this last moment.”